Community Pharmacy-based Point-of-Care Testing Certificate Program

This program is based on a Michigan Pharmacists Association (MPA) educational program entitled Community Pharmacy-based Point-of-Care Testing, originally developed by:

Allison M. Dering-Anderson, Pharm.D., RP, is the community pharmacy specialist on faculty at the University of Nebraska College of Pharmacy.  She is one of the developers of a Point of Care Testing Certificate program, training pharmacists to conduct point of care testing and provide follow-up care.   Dr. Ally lectures in Pharmacy Law & Ethics, Immunizations, Pharmacotherapy, Pharmacy & Health Care, and Pharmaceutical Care, all with a focus on community pharmacy.  Dr. Ally coordinates both the OTC Products elective and the Point of Care Testing elective. Dr. Ally has been a guest on the Digity radio show “Problems and Solutions” for over 17 years.  This live, call-in radio show is hosted by Cathy Blythe, a 2-time Marconi winner, and broadcast on 9 mid-west radio stations.

Paul Dobesh, Pharm.D., FCCP, BCPS, Bachelor of Science in Pharmacy from South Dakota State University.  Two year add-on Pharm.D. degree also from South Dakota State University.  Internal Medicine Specialty Residency with the University of Texas at Austin at Brackenridge Hospital.  Currently Associate Professor of Pharmacy Practice with the University of Nebraska Medical Center in Omaha, Nebraska. Currently maintains clinical practice with internal medicine and cardiology services at Nebraska Medical Center.  Responsible for teaching pharmacy and medical students as well as pharmacy and medical residents and lectures in the area of ischemic heart disease, antithrombotic therapy, and other cardiology and critical care topics.  Dr. Dobesh has conducted research on antiplatelet and antithrombotic therapy, focusing on real-world utilization and health-economics.  He has also published book chapters and several manuscripts in this area.  Dr. Dobesh was awarded the “Distinguished Educator or the Year” award at the University of Nebraska Medical Center College of Pharmacy in 2012, an award he has received 3 times since 2007. In 2013 he was also awarded the University of Nebraska Medical Center campus wide Outstanding Educator Award.

Mary Farrington, CMP, is Director of Continuing Education at Michigan Pharmacists Association and oversees all educational activity offerings for the Association.

Donald G. Klepser, PhD, MBA, is associate professor of pharmacy at the University of Nebraska Medical Center College of Pharmacy. He has PhD in Pharmaceutical Socioeconomics from the University of Iowa, an MBA from the University of Minnesota’s Carlson School of Management, and a Bachelors degree in Communications from the University of Michigan.   He has studied the use of POC testing in community pharmacies for the past 7 years and is currently the primary investigator on grants to develop community pharmacy practice models for managing diseases such as HIV, diabetes, hypertension, influenza, and group A Streptococcus. He is also the primary investigator on grants to better understand how state and local health departments perceive the role of pharmacists conducting POC tests.

Michael E. Klepser, Pharm.D., FCCP, is Professor of Pharmacy Practice at Ferris State University College of Pharmacy. He received his Doctor of Pharmacy from the University of Michigan College of Pharmacy in 1992. He has also completed a pharmacy practice residency at Detroit Receiving Hospital and University Health Center and a fellowship in infectious diseases at Hartford Hospital in Hartford Connecticut. Dr. Klepser has held academic appointments at the University of Iowa and most recently at Ferris State University where he has held the rank of professor since 2001. Dr. Klepser has studied numerous pharmacy-based CLIA-waived POC screening programs for influenza, group A Streptococcus, HIV, and HCV over the past 10 years.  He has also been instrumental in expanding educational opportunities for pharmacists in the area of CLIA-waived POC tests and collaborative disease management programs.

Stephanie Klepser, Pharm.D, has been the Director of Clinical Services at OptiMed Pharmacy (formerly MSU-KCMS Pharmacy) since January 2010. In this capacity, she has had direct responsibility for developing and implementing a number of innovative pharmacist-run clinical programs including a comprehensive travel health clinic, child and adult immunization services, and specialty programs for Hepatitis C and a number of autoimmune diseases.  Since 2007, Dr. Klepser has been actively involved with several research protocols evaluating the use of rapid diagnostic testing in community pharmacies for diseases such as influenza, group A streptococcus, and HIV.  Through these projects she has gained experience and expertise in providing pharmacist training and education, as well as project management and implementation in the community pharmacy setting.  Dr. Klepser earned her Doctorate of Pharmacy with Highest Distinction from Ferris State University in 2007 and subsequently completed her post-graduate pharmacy practice (PGY1) residency at Northwestern Memorial Hospital, Chicago, Illinois. She is a member of the Michigan Pharmacists Association (MPA), Michigan Society of Community Pharmacists (MSCP), Society of Infectious Diseases Pharmacists (SIDP), and the International Society of Travel Medicine (ISTM).

Dianne Malburg, R.Ph., CPIA, is the Chief Operations Officer with the Michigan Pharmacists Association (MPA) and Pharmacy Services Inc. based in Lansing, Michigan. She earned her bachelors in pharmacy and applied biology from Ferris State University in 1987. Malburg has worked nine years in hospital practice and 10 years owning an independent pharmacy in addition to working for the Association since 1995. She has led MPA initiatives related to immunizations and point of care testing in an effort to advance the profession, as well as promoting collaborative practice agreements with medical providers. Malburg has been recognized as the Distinguished Young Pharmacist by MPA,  Pharmacist of the Year by the Michigan Society of Health System Pharmacists and the Clark Andresen Distinguished Pharmacy Alumnus from Ferris' State University College of Pharmacy. 

Keith Olsen, Pharm.D., FCCP, FCCM, is a Professor of Pharmacy and Chair, Department of Pharmacy Practice at the University of Nebraska Medical Center and a Critical Care Specialist for the Nebraska Health System, both in Omaha. He earned his PharmD and completed a residency at the University of Nebraska Medical Center. He is recognized as a fellow of the American College of Clinical Pharmacy and the American College of Critical Care Medicine.  Twice graduating doctor of pharmacy classes has recognized him as the teacher of the year.  He has published over 275 peer-reviewed publications, abstracts, and book chapters in the areas of critical care pharmacotherapy, and infectious diseases. He was elected as a Regent for the American College of Critical Care Medicine in 2010 and re-elected in 2013 and was elected to the Board of Trustees Research Institute for the American College of Clinical Pharmacy-2012.

© 2018 National Association of Chain Drug Stores, Inc.  All rights reserved.